Skip to content

The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer – Psalm 18

Thursday, August 26, 2010

[18:1] I love you, O LORD, my strength.
  [2] The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer,
my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge,
my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
  [3] I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised,
and I am saved from my enemies.
 
[4] The cords of death encompassed me;
the torrents of destruction assailed me;
  [5] the cords of Sheol entangled me;
the snares of death confronted me.
 
[6] In my distress I called upon the LORD;
to my God I cried for help.
From his temple he heard my voice,
and my cry to him reached his ears.
 
[7] Then the earth reeled and rocked;
the foundations also of the mountains trembled
and quaked, because he was angry.
  [8] Smoke went up from his nostrils,
and devouring fire from his mouth;
glowing coals flamed forth from him.
  [9] He bowed the heavens and came down;
thick darkness was under his feet.
  [10] He rode on a cherub and flew;
he came swiftly on the wings of the wind.
  [11] He made darkness his covering, his canopy around him,
thick clouds dark with water.
  [12] Out of the brightness before him
hailstones and coals of fire broke through his clouds.
 
[13] The LORD also thundered in the heavens,
and the Most High uttered his voice,
hailstones and coals of fire.
  [14] And he sent out his arrows and scattered them;
he flashed forth lightnings and routed them.
  [15] Then the channels of the sea were seen,
and the foundations of the world were laid bare
at your rebuke, O LORD,
at the blast of the breath of your nostrils.
 
[16] He sent from on high, he took me;
he drew me out of many waters.
  [17] He rescued me from my strong enemy
and from those who hated me,
for they were too mighty for me.
  [18] They confronted me in the day of my calamity,
but the LORD was my support.
  [19] He brought me out into a broad place;
he rescued me, because he delighted in me.
 
[20] The LORD dealt with me according to my righteousness;
according to the cleanness of my hands he rewarded me.
  [21] For I have kept the ways of the LORD,
and have not wickedly departed from my God.
  [22] For all his rules were before me,
and his statutes I did not put away from me.
  [23] I was blameless before him,
and I kept myself from my guilt.
  [24] So the LORD has rewarded me according to my righteousness,
according to the cleanness of my hands in his sight.
 
[25] With the merciful you show yourself merciful;
with the blameless man you show yourself blameless;
  [26] with the purified you show yourself pure;
and with the crooked you make yourself seem tortuous.
  [27] For you save a humble people,
but the haughty eyes you bring down.
  [28] For it is you who light my lamp;
the LORD my God lightens my darkness.
  [29] For by you I can run against a troop,
and by my God I can leap over a wall.
  [30] This God—his way is perfect;
the word of the LORD proves true;
he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him.
 
[31] For who is God, but the LORD?
And who is a rock, except our God?—
  [32] the God who equipped me with strength
and made my way blameless.
  [33] He made my feet like the feet of a deer
and set me secure on the heights.
  [34] He trains my hands for war,
so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.
  [35] You have given me the shield of your salvation,
and your right hand supported me,
and your gentleness made me great.
  [36] You gave a wide place for my steps under me,
and my feet did not slip.
  [37] I pursued my enemies and overtook them,
and did not turn back till they were consumed.
  [38] I thrust them through, so that they were not able to rise;
they fell under my feet.
  [39] For you equipped me with strength for the battle;
you made those who rise against me sink under me.
  [40] You made my enemies turn their backs to me,
and those who hated me I destroyed.
  [41] They cried for help, but there was none to save;
they cried to the LORD, but he did not answer them.
  [42] I beat them fine as dust before the wind;
I cast them out like the mire of the streets.
 
[43] You delivered me from strife with the people;
you made me the head of the nations;
people whom I had not known served me.
  [44] As soon as they heard of me they obeyed me;
foreigners came cringing to me.
  [45] Foreigners lost heart
and came trembling out of their fortresses.
 
[46] The LORD lives, and blessed be my rock,
and exalted be the God of my salvation—
  [47] the God who gave me vengeance
and subdued peoples under me,
  [48] who delivered me from my enemies;
yes, you exalted me above those who rose against me;
you rescued me from the man of violence.
 
[49] For this I will praise you, O LORD, among the nations,
and sing to your name.
  [50] Great salvation he brings to his king,
and shows steadfast love to his anointed,
to David and his offspring forever.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

