Skip to content

Jonah’s Prayer

Tuesday, July 20, 2010
Then Jonah prayed to the LORD his God from the belly of the fish,
[2] saying,      
    “I called out to the LORD, out of my distress,
        and He answered me;
    out of the belly of Sheol I cried,
        and You heard my voice.
     [3] For
You cast me into the deep,
        into the heart of the seas,
        and the flood surrounded me;
    all
Your waves and Your billows
        passed over me.
     [4] Then I said, ‘I am driven away
        from Your sight;
    yet I shall again look
        upon Your holy temple.’
     [5] The waters closed in over me to take my life;
        the deep surrounded me;
    weeds were wrapped about my head
         [6] at the roots of the mountains.
    I went down to the land
        whose bars closed upon me forever;
    yet YOU BROUGHT UP my life from the pit,
        O LORD my God.
     [7] When my life was fainting away,
        I remembered the LORD,
    and my prayer came to
You,
        into Your holy temple.
     [8] Those who pay regard to vain idols
        forsake their hope of steadfast love.
     [9] But I with the voice of thanksgiving
        will sacrifice to You;
    what I have vowed I will pay.
        Salvation belongs to the LORD!”
 
     [10] And the LORD spoke to the fish, and it vomited Jonah out upon the dry land.
(Jonah 2 ESV)

Amen! and Amen!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

