Skip to content

Love Constrained to Obedience

Saturday, August 15, 2009

Love Constrained to Obedience – (ht: challies.com)

A couple of days ago I stumbled across this old hymn (or poem–you pick) by William Cowper. What a great poem it is. I thought I’d share it with you in case you’ve never read it or, as in my case, have read it in the past but have forgotten all about it. It is called “Love Constrained to Obedience.”

No strength of nature can suffice

To serve the Lord aright:

And what she has she misapplies,

For want of clearer light.

How long beneath the law I lay

In bondage and distress;

I toll’d the precept to obey,

But toil’d without success.

Then, to abstain from outward sin

Was more than I could do;

Now, if I feel its power within,

I feel I hate it too.

Then all my servile works were done

A righteousness to raise;

Now, freely chosen in the Son,

I freely choose His ways.

“What shall I do,” was then the word,

“That I may worthier grow?”

“What shall I render to the Lord?”

Is my inquiry now.

To see the law by Christ fulfilled

And hear His pardoning voice,

Changes a slave into a child,

And duty into choice.

Incidentally, does anyone know whether you would rightly pronounce “Cowper” as “COW-per” or as “COO-per?” I’ve heard both.

Sponsor:

Joshua M. Espinosa

A quick email Sent from an iPod Touch.

 

Sunday Opportunities:
9:15 a.m. Sunday School
10:30 a.m. Morning Worship
4:15 p.m. Student Ministry
4:30 p.m. Ladies’ Prayer Time
6:00 p.m. Evening Worship

Saturday Opportunity:
5:30 p.m. Congregational Prayer Time

Christ Church of the Carolinas

1824 Barnwell Street \ Columbia, South Carolinas \ 29201 \ 803-254-5055 \ www.christchurchofthecarolinas.org

“Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect” (Romans 12:1-2).

Disclaimer: The information contained in this message is for the intended addressee only and may contain confidential and/or privileged information. If you are not the intended addressee, please delete this message and notify the sender; do not copy or distribute this message or disclose its contents to anyone. Any views or opinions expressed in this message are those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of Christ Church of the Carolinas or of any of its associated ministries. No reliance may be placed on this message without written confirmation from an authorised representative of the church.

Posted via email from Dei Gratia Rex

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jana permalink
    Sunday, August 16, 2009 6:44 am

    Love the Cowper hymn! According to wikepedia and nethymnal it’s “cooper.”

Leave a Reply

