Skip to content

Ars Bene Moriendi “the art of dying well”

Sunday, March 22, 2009

In memory of the death of a great scholar, pastor, theologian, Scriptorium Daily posted this about Jonathan Edwards.

As it became clear that he was going to die (the fever and throat constriction made him unable to eat or drink enough for subsistence), he called his daughter Lucy and said,

Dear Lucy, it seems to me to be the will of God that I must shortly leave you; therefore give my kindest love to my dear wife, and tell her, that the uncommon union, which has so long subsisted between us, has been of such a nature, as I trust is spiritual, and therefore will continue forever: and I hope she will be supported under so great a trial, and submit cheerfully to the will of God. And as to my children, you are now like to be left fatherless, which I hope will be an inducement to you all to seek a Father, who will never fail you. And as to my funeral, I would have it be like Mr. Burr’s; and any additional sum of money that might be expected to be laid out that way, I would have it disposed of to charitable uses.

As death approached, some friends and relatives near his bedside were fretting over the terrible effect the death of the president would have on the college, and the loss to the American colonies that the passing of the famous preacher Jonathan Edwards would be. Nobody thought he was listening, but he said aloud, “Trust in God, and ye need not fear.” Read the entire article here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

