Skip to content

Brothers/Sisters, Just Say No

Saturday, January 24, 2009

Brothers, Sisters, “Just say No”. Your relationships will be so much stronger when someone knows you can say no to them.

“I’ll need to pray about that” and other ways to say “No” in Christianese

I love when someone asks us to help out at church and instead of saying, “no” we say, “Let me pray about it.” Really? I asked you to help me clean up tomorrow night after the youth group and you feel like that’s something you need to run passed the Savior of the world? He’s going to give you the thumbs up or thumbs down on whether or not you can help me stack chairs for seven minutes?

Sure, there are lots of situations that call for a “pause while I pray” response. But I think that 37% of the time when we say “let me pray about it” we are just saying that so we can delay the rejection and can later email the person a big no instead of doing it in person.

ht: Tony Reinke

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

