Skip to content

An Evangelist’s Heart

Friday, January 23, 2009

“Whitefield recognized that God had made his ministry a major factor in this work, and as he looked forward to America and anticipated preaching there, he made such statements:

I love those that thunder out the Word. The Christian world is in a deep sleep! Nothing but a loud voice can awaken them out of it.
Oh, for a revival of true and undefiled religion in all sects whatsoever! . . . God make me an instrument of promoting it! Methinks I care not what I do or suffer, so that I may see my Lord’s kingdom come with power.
The whole world is now my parish. Wheresoever my Master calls me I am ready to go and preach His everlasting Gospel. My only grief is, that I can do no more for Christ.

[George Whitefield volume 1, Dallimore, page 400]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

