Skip to content

Pray Without Ceasing – I Thessalonians 5:17

Saturday, June 7, 2008

I do not know if it was from a full day of 4-wheeling for JMEjr or it was this story, “Unceasing Prayer”, from Joel R. Beeke and Diana Kleyn’s devotional story book, How God Used a Thunderstorm, book one of a five volume series, but as I read this it put JMEjr to sleep. As I was reading it, I thought of many who could benefit from this, as well as myself, as we work unto the Lord, for His glory (Colossians 3:22-4:1 sermon from Christ Church of the Carolinas). Now comes self-discipline and the act of teaching ourselves (myself) to do it and do it continually.

Unceasing Prayer

Several ministers had gathered to discuss difficult questions, and it was asked how the command to “pray without ceasing” (I Thessalonians 5:17) could be obeyed. Various suggestions were offered, and at last one of the ministers was appointed to write an essay on the subject for the next meeting. A young maidservant, who was serving inthe room, heard the discussion and exclaimed: “What! A whole month to tell the meaning of this text? Why, it’s one of the easiest and best verses int he Bible.”
“Well, well, Mary,” said an old minister. “What do you know about it? Can you pray all the time?”
“Oh, yes sir!”
“Really? How is that possible when you have so many things to do?”
“Why, sir, the more I have to do, the more I pray.”
“Indeed! Well, Mary, how do you do it? Most people wouldn’t agree with you.”
“Well, sir,” said the girl, “when I first open my eyes in the morning, I pray, ‘Lord, open the eyes of my understanding,’ and while I am dressing, I pray that I may be clothed with the robe of righteousness. While I am washing, I ask to have my sins washed away. As I begin work, I pray that I may receive strength for all the work of the day. While I kindle the fire, I pray that revival may be kindled in me. While preparing and eating breakfast, I ask to be fed with the Bread of Life and the pure milk of the Word. As I sweep the house, I pray that my heart may be swept clean of all its impurities. As I am busy with the little children, I look up to God and pray that I may alsways have the trusting love of a little child, and as I….” [Me: “I wish that the ministers would not have cut her off so we could have more practical suggestions from ‘Mary’.”]
“Enough, enough!” cried the minister. “These truths are often hid from the wise and prudent and revealed unto babes, as the Lord Himself said. Go on, Mary,” he continued, “pray without ceasing. As for us brothers, let us thank the Lord for this lesson.”

Question: Can you think of other times during your day when you pray in the same way as the maid?
Scripture Reading:Luke 11:5-10

Each devotional in the story book series provides a question and a Scripture reading following the devotional. They also provide identifiers for a “shorter” devotional or “longer” devotional. This is helpful as determining which story is suitable for the child or time which you have. Most of these stories “subject matter” is not for either of our children but jmejr has appeared to like them and I am amazed at what he pulls from these.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

