Skip to content

In the Shadow of the Father

Monday, February 11, 2008


As JMEjr and I were walking to the 4-Runner after church yesterday (it was about 12:30ish), I noticed that he was walking on my right side and about 2-3 feet from me, yet not ahead of me and just slightly behind me. He was looking down the entire time. I wondered if he was tired or possibly sick. So I asked him how he was. His response was, “good”. I said, “Are you sure?” He said, “Yes sir.” I then asked him what he was doing, which he plainly stated, “I am walking in your shadow.” I stopped walking, he did too. I stepped to the left, he did also. I chuckled and said to him (really to myself), “You do not know how profound that statement is which you made.” Not knowing he was really listening, he replied, “Yes sir.” And we continued walking, he in my shadow.

If we would all learn to walk in our Father’s shadow and quit trying to walk without him or ahead of him, we would all do alright for ourselves.





One Comment leave one →
  1. Saturday, February 23, 2008 3:09 am

    what an unbelievable responsibility you fathers have. these little guys are watching every move you make – literally following every footstep.

    and you hit the nail on the head. God makes it easy. all you have to do is hand it to Him – walk in His shadow – follow His will. everything falls into place exactly as it should be.

    thanks for sharing. you put a smile on my face & gave me a great visual of my walk with Christ.

Leave a Reply

