Skip to content

The Loveliness of Christ by Rutherford

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Steve at Trophies of Grace posts an excerpt from a recent released book, The Loveliness of Christ, by Samuel Rutherford.

“Be content, ye are his wheat growing in our Lord’s field. And if wheat, ye must go under our Lord’s threshing instrument, in his barn-floor, and through his sieve, and through his mill to be bruised, as the Prince of your salvation, Jesus was (Isa. 53:9), that ye may be found good bread in your Lord’s house.

But it is neither shame nor pride for a drowning man to swim to a rock, nor for a ship-broken soul to run himself ashore upon Christ. Suppose once I be guilty, need force I cannot, I do not, go by Christ.

I am most gladly content that Christ breaketh all my idols in pieces: it hath put a new edge upon my blunted love to Christ. I see he is jealous of my love, and will have all to himself.”

Lighten your heart by laying your all upon him…. Frame yourself for Christ, and gloom not upon his cross.

I have a lover, Christ, and yet I want love for him. I have a lovely and desirable Lord, who is love-worthy, and who beggeth my love and heart, and I have nothing to give him. Dear brother, come further in on Christ, and see a new treasure in him: come in, and look down and see angels’ wonder, and heaven and earth’s wonder of love, sweetness, majesty, and excellency in him.”

Dry wells send us to the fountain.”

No pen, no words, no image can express to you the loveliness of my only, only Lord Jesus.”

Read the forward, which is written by Dr. Sinclair Ferguson.

We recently received several of these books for our church kiosk. They are nicely bound, have a great soft leather-like cover. Conveniently fit into a shirt pocket and well the content, it’s the Puritan Samuel Rutherford.

You can read Steve’s blog or sign up to receive emails from him at his blog.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

