Skip to content

Holiness; 7. Assurance (part 1) JC Ryle

Monday, October 15, 2007

Assurance

“For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure has come. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith; in the future there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day; and not only to me, but also to all who have loved His appearing.” II Timothy 4:6-8

(a) Paul looks downward to the grave, without fear
(b) Paul looks backward to his ministerial life, without shame (as a soldier, a runner, a steward)
(c) Paul looks forward to the great day of reckoning, without doubt
– These all provide an “assurance of hope”

I. An Assured Hope is a True and Scriptural Thing
– every believer in Christ ought to aim at and seek after
– The Word of God appears to me to teach distinctly that a believer may arrive at an assured confidence with regard to his own salvation
– in general he shall feel entirely confident as to the pardon and safety of his soul
– assurance is a reality and true thing; God’s children must not let themselves be driven from the use of a truth, merely because it is abused

Scriptural Truths:

  • “I know” (Job 19:25-26)
  • “I will fear no evil” (Isa. 23:4)
  • “perfect peace” (Isa. 26:3)
  • “assurance” (Isa. 32:17)
  • “persuaded” (Rom. 8:38-38; II Tim. 1:12)
  • “know” (II Cor. 5:1; I Jn 3:14, 5:13, 5:19)
  • “confident” (II Cor. 5:6)
  • “full assurance” (Col. 2:2; Heb 6:11, 10:22)
  • “sure” (II Pet. 1:10)
  • – deep humility and strong assurance are perfectly compatible, and that there is not any necessary connection between spiritual confidence and pride
    – it cannot be wrond to feel confidently in a matter where God speaks unconditionally
    – assurance after all is no more than a full grown faith; a masculine faith that grasps Christ’s promise with both hands — a faith which argues like the good centurion, “If the Lord ‘speak the words only,’ I am healed.”
    – Paul says, The Lord will preserve me; I shall never be confounded.”

    “Never did a believer in Jesus Christ die or drown in his voyage to heaven. They will all be found safe and sound with the Lamb on Mount Zion. Christ loseth none of them; yea, nothing of them (John 6:39). Not a bone of a believer is to be seen in the field of battle. They are all more than conquerors through Him that loved them” (Romans 8:37).

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

