Skip to content

Thoughts from David Brainerd

Thursday, October 11, 2007

“The Sabbath evening, July 12, 1739 I was walking again in the same solitary place, where I was brought to see myself lost and helpless, as was before mentioned; and here, in a mournful melancholy state, was attempting to pray; but found no heart to engage in that or any other duty; my former concern and exercise and religious affections were now gone. I thought, the Spirit of God had quite left me; but still was not distressed; yet disconsolate as if there was nothing in heaven or earth could make me happy. And having been thus endeavouring to pray, though being, as I thought very stupid and senseless, for near half and hour, and by this time the sun was about half an hour high, as I remember, then, as I was walking in a dark thick grove, unspeakable glory seemed to open to the view and apprehension of my soul. . . . .”


“It was a new apprehension or view that I had of God, such as I never had before, not anything which had the least resemblance of it. I stood still, and wondered, and admired. I knew that I never had seen before anything comparable to it for excellency and beauty; it was widely different from all the conceptions that ever I had had of God or things divine. . . . My soul rejoiced with joy unpspeakable to see such a God, such a glorious divine Being; and I was inwardly pleased and satisfied that He should be God over all, for ever and ever. My soul was so captivated and delighted with the excellency, loveliness, greatness and other perfections of God that I was even swallowed up in Him; at least to that degree, that I had no thought, as I remember at first, about my own salvation, and scarce reflected there was such a creature as myself.”(ht: Dr. P. Ryken at Reformation21)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

