Skip to content

The Twenty-First Century Christian and the Sabbath

Friday, August 17, 2007

I have just picked up a copy of “On the First Day of the Week – God, the Christian and the Sabbath” by Rev. Dr. Iain D. Campbell (a pastor of Back Free Church of Scotland on the Isle of Lewis) and want to share with you some diagnostic questions which he offers in the chapter titled, “The Twenty-First Century Christian and the Sabbath.”

Dr. Campbell writes, “I do not think it is possible for us to draw up a list of things to do and not to do; but I do think we can ask questions about our Sunday activities which might help us to apply the fourth commandment meaningfully.” (p. 188)

He goes on to provides several questions:

“1. Is what I do on the Lord’s Day conducive to holiness?

2. Is what I do on the Lord’s Day necessary?

3. Is what I do on the Lord’s Day going to be of benefit to others?

4. Is what I do on the Lord’s Day going to give credit and honour to Jesus Christ?

5. Is what I do on the Lord’s Day going to compromise my witness as a believer?

6. Is what I do on the Lord’s Day going to help the task of the church?”

Questions 3, 5, and 6 are often overlooked when one asks questions about the Sabbath and how we are to honor it and I believe that Dr. Campbell does a good job at assisting the reader with these questions.

Of course, as an Elder of our church will often say, “An unexamined life is a life not worth living.” So we must be true to ourselves when asking these questions and does not hurt to ask another who you know would provide an answer which may not ‘tickle’ your ears.

Joshua M. Espinosa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

