Skip to content

A Sovereign Protector I Have – Toplady

Friday, February 8, 2008

For my friend and his family in Central City, KY.

(ht: Timmy Brister)

A Sovereign Protector I Have

“A sovereign protector I have,
Unseen, yet for ever at hand,
Unchangeably faithful to save,
Almighty to rule and command.
He smiles and my comforts abound;
His grace as the dew shall descend,
And walls of salvation surround
The soul He delights to defend.
Kind Author and ground of my hope,
Thee, Thee, for my God I avow;
My glad Ebenezer set up
And own Thou hast helped me till now.
I muse on the years that are past
Wherein my defence Thou hast proved;
Nor wilt Thou relinquish at last
A sinner so signally loved.
Inspirer and Hearer of prayer,
Thou Shepherd and Guardian of Thine,
My all to Thy covenant care
I sleeping and waking resign.
If Thou art my Shield and my Sun,
The night is no darkness to me;
And, fast as my moments roll on,
They bring me but nearer to Thee.”

- Augustus Toplady, December 1774

One Comment leave one →
  1. Monday, February 11, 2008 6:57 am

    Josh, in response to the joyful encouragement of this hymn I offer the following from Stephen Charnock which is quoted by CHS in the Treasury of David, Psalm 135.

    The first discovery of the name I AM, which signifies the Divine eternity, as well as immutability, was for the comfort of the oppressed Israelites in Egypt: Exodus 3:14,15. It was then pubished from the secret place of the Almighty, as the only strong cordial to refresh them. It hath not yet, it shall not ever lose its virtue in any of the miseries that have or shall successively befall the church. ‘Tis as durable as the God whose name it is : he is still I AM and the same to the church as he was then to Israel. His spiritual Israel have a greater right to the glories of it than the carnal Israel could have. No oppression can be greater than theirs; what a comfort suited to the distress that distress hath the same suitableness to every other oppression. It was not a temporary name, but a name for ever, his ‘memorial to all generations’ and reacheth to the church of the Gentiles, with whom he treats as the God of Abraham, ratifying that Covenant by the Messiah, which he made with Abraham the father of the faithful.”

    His name is to be praised!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

